Status Updates Stat

So apparently a few things have changed in the past 10 years since I was in college.  Like for example- everyone has a laptop.  Everyone.  And they’re allowed out in class.  Had my first class not been E Marketing and had I not read in the syllabus that I was supposed to bring my computer to class, I’m not even sure the thought would have crossed my mind.  No one even owned a laptop when I was an undergrad.  We all had desktops.  Nice big computers that all the dads had to set up during move in day.  I’m not even sure that we had wireless internet during my first couple of years.  I seem to remember lots of wires and cords that would somehow get lost during the summer and result in a last minute Wal-Mart run.  Not anymore.  Now, everyone brings their sleek new laptops to class and connects wirelessly.  And not just in E Marketing.  In every class.  With a lot of Facebook on the screens.  During my first week of classes I would look around in shock.  The professor would be in the front giving a lecture and the girl next to me would be chatting on Facebook about something that apparently couldn’t wait for 2 hours.  And being nosy, I kind of wanted to know what it was.  An emergency at the sorority house?  An ex boyfriend spotting?  But looking around, there were quite a few more people updating their statuses.  Not so much the people my age.  We all just looked around to see if anyone was going to get in trouble.  Not sure what that would consist of.  Detention maybe?  Nope…the professor just continued teaching as if he had everyones full attention and I finally gave up on trying to read out of the corner of my eye.

Oh, and apparently you don’t have to ask to be excused to use the restroom either….

One response »

  1. i don’t even know what to say!! i didn’t even learn to use a Mac until i had been working for at least 5 years!! computers in school… really? cell phones… you think you are old. lol

    Reply

Leave a comment